Florida Panthers Tickets 2020 & Schedule

About Florida Panthers

Florida Panthers are a professional ice hockey team based in the Miami metropolitan area. They are members of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference of the National Hockey League (NHL). The team’s local broadcasting rights has been held by Fox Sports Florida (formerly SportsChannel Florida) since 1996. The team initially played their home games at Miami Arena, before moving to the BB&T Center in 1998. Located in Sunrise, Florida, the Panthers are the southernmost team in the NHL. The club is affiliated with one minor league team, the Springfield Thunderbirds of the American Hockey League.

The Panthers began playing in the 1993–94 NHL season. The team has made one appearance in the Stanley Cup Finals, in 1996, the only season in which the Panthers have ever won a playoff series, eventually losing the Finals to the Colorado Avalanche. Since then, the Panthers have only qualified for the Stanley Cup playoffs four times, never advancing past the first round, since 1996.

In the 2015–16 season, the team set a franchise record with a 12-game win streak. They also set a franchise record for most wins in a regular season with 47 wins and won their division for the second time in their existence. However, the Panthers lost to the New York Islanders in six games in the first round of the playoffs (this was the first playoff series win for the Islanders since the 1992–93 season). Head coach Gerard Gallant was nominated as a finalist for the Jack Adams Award, which recognizes the NHL Coach of the Year.

The 2016–17 season began with the promotion of general manager Dale Tallon to an executive position within the organization and assistant general manager Tom Rowe was promoted to general manager. After an 11–10–1 start to the season, the Panthers fired head coach Gerard Gallant and general manager Tom Rowe took over as interim head coach. At the end of the season, Rowe was relieved of his duties as both coach and general manager and was named special advisor to Tallon, who returned to positions of team president and general manager. On June 12, 2017, the Panthers named Bob Boughner as their new head coach.

The 2017–18 season began with a 19–22–6 record leading up to the 2018 NHL All-Star Game. The Panthers then went on a 25–8–2 run in their last 35 games, ending up one point short of a playoff berth. Their 44–30–8 record earned 96 regular season points, tying the league record of the 2014–15 Boston Bruins for the team with the most regular season points to miss the postseason.

Florida Panthers Roster 2020

55 United States Noel Acciari C R 28 2019 Johnston, Rhode Island
16 Finland Aleksander Barkov (C) C L 24 2013 Tampere, Finland
72 Russia Sergei Bobrovsky G L 31 2019 Novokuznetsk, Soviet Union
9 United States Brian Boyle C L 35 2019 Hingham, Massachusetts
2 Canada Josh Brown D R 26 2013 London, Ontario
10 Canada Brett Connolly RW R 27 2019 Campbell River, British Columbia
63 Russia Evgenii Dadonov W L 30 2017 Chelyabinsk, Soviet Union
60 Canada Chris Driedger G L 25 2019 Winnipeg, Manitoba
5 Canada Aaron Ekblad (A) D R 23 2014 Windsor, Ontario
8 Canada Jayce Hawryluk RW R 24 2014 Yorkton, Saskatchewan
68 Canada Mike Hoffman LW L 30 2018 Kitchener, Ontario
11 Canada Jonathan Huberdeau (A) LW L 26 2011 Saint-Jérôme, Quebec
62 Switzerland Denis Malgin C R 23 2015 Olten, Switzerland
19 Canada Mike Matheson D L 25 2012 Pointe-Claire, Quebec
33 Canada Sam Montembeault G L 23 2015 Bécancour, Quebec
13 Canada Mark Pysyk D R 28 2016 Sherwood Park, Alberta
7 Canada Colton Sceviour C R 30 2016 Red Deer, Alberta
61 Canada Riley Stillman D L 21 2016 Calgary, Alberta
6 Sweden Anton Stralman D R 33 2019 Tibro, Sweden
14 United States Dominic Toninato C L 25 2019 Duluth, Minnesota
21 United States Vincent Trocheck (A) C R 26 2011 Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
77 United States Frank Vatrano F L 25 2018 East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
52 Canada MacKenzie Weegar D R 26 2013 Ottawa, Ontario
3 United States Keith Yandle (A) D L 33 2016 Boston, Massachusetts

Team captains

Brian Skrudland, 1993–1997
Scott Mellanby, 1997–2001
Pavel Bure & Paul Laus, 2001–2002 (co-captains)
Olli Jokinen, 2003–2008
Bryan McCabe, 2009–2011
Ed Jovanovski, 2013–2014
Willie Mitchell, 2014–2016
Derek MacKenzie, 2016–2018
Aleksander Barkov, 2018–present

Related Posts